GSoC 2022 Symbolic package project

Hello Octave,

Introduction

I’m Alex Vong, now living in Australia. I had previously made (small) contributions to octsympy when I was a university student in Hong Kong. I want to participate in GSoC 2022 working on the Symbolic package project.

Some thoughts on the project

I’ve read the Wiki page. My understanding is that we want to:

1. expose full functionality of sympy through the pythonic interface
  2. deprecate python_cmd in favour of using the pythonic interface
  3. implement OO-style method calls (I am not exactly sure what to do here, are we emulating sympy API or matlab API here?)

End

Finally, do I need to use hg and latest octave version for this project? I will learn them if they are required. Also, I’m not exactly sure how to write a proposal. It would be great to get some guidance if possible.

Thanks for you interest in the symbolic package project and your short introduction :slightly_smiling_face: The symbolic package is highly demanded and help with its development is certainly appreciated.

@cbm and @mtmiller are potential mentors and experts for this projects and might share some thoughts with you.

1 Like

I’ve created an issue in the octsympy repo to receive feedback from potential mentors @cbm, @mtmiller and others :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hello Colin B. Macdonald and Mike Miller,

I am writing to inform you of my intention of participating in GSoC 2022 working on the Symbolic package project. @siko1056 suggested you could be my potential mentors. More details can be found in this Octave Discourse thread: https://octave.discourse.group/t/gsoc-2022-symbolic-package-project/2396

It would be great if you can share some thoughts with me. I am CC’ing the octave discourse thread to make it easier to keep track of everything.

Cheers,