How to read Octave documentation

hello everybody, newbie here. I have trouble reading Octave documentation, or Matlab or any other documentation. Is there any certain way to get accustomed to documentation’s syntax? I have to read and re-read many times, and still takes a few erroneous lines of code before I get what documentation tries to tell me. Is this normal? How do you manage, what are your tricks? Thank you in advance fellas.

1 Like
  1. How long have you been using Octave / Matlab ? a week, a month, an year, few years ?
  2. How frequently do you use it ? Daily, once in a week, one in few months ?
  3. help functionname in the command window for most functions give an example usage. Do you copy that and try it out before using the function in your code ? Some functions require the data to be set up in a particular format before calling the function; e.g. functions which take outputs of meshgrid function as their input. I try to copy the snippet given in the example / documentation into my code and modify that to minimize errors.
  4. For frequently used functions, eventually I memorize it due to frequent usage. For infrequently used functions, I don’t mind the multiple trials since they don’t finally affect my productivity due to infrequent usage.
1 Like

I began learning Octave in second half of November. I give it my honest effort, from one to 3 or more hours a day. I am comfortable using everything I learnt from youtube tutorials - Hanshaw University is best! - but when it comes to advancing on my own, using documentation alone, I have a really hard time comprehending.

I often can’t distinguish between replacement words for what would be my file or variable, and Octave command, or specifiers. I have trouble finding what commands I really need, and documentation often doesn’t specify what must be done prior, for this particular command to work.