Input handling code / best practices?

In another thread a new contributor asked if someone would be able to help him with input parsing, etc, for a rather cumbersome function. I realized I was wondering something along this line on my last bug fix: code for input parsing seems to take as much of my time as anything else, especially when trying to match odd combinations of variable inputs and dependent code paths. And each time I feel like I’m starting from scratch, deciding between ifs, switches, for i=1:nargin loops, etc. rather inconsistently. It seems Octave code doesn’t make heavy use of InputParser functionality, which maybe would streamline some of that but I have no experience there. Would it make sense to try to capture input handling strategy/ sample code/ etc somewhere? Are there function templates or best practices that would benefit from a page on the wiki or something? Are there enough similar cases to create said templates, or is it just messy because that’s the nature of the beast? Would it help later code maintenance / newbie introduction if such things were more consistent?

This is a major challenge, and you’ve identified some good potential steps.

Architecturally, good code in Octave follows the pattern of

1. Validate inputs
  2. Calculate results

This avoids Garbage-In/Garbage-Out which is always a problem, but is a particular problem when computer science is not your first discipline. Many people who use Octave can be brilliant in their own field of chemistry, physics, geology, biology, etc. But they use Octave as a tool and they just want an answer. Without sufficient input validation they may not realize that the function they are feeding was not designed to handle negative numbers, or complex values, or maybe outside a periodic range -pi to +pi.