. wiki.octave.org/meet . Online Developer Meeting Announcements

[Edited to fix Central Europe time]

Join us for another semi-formal meeting of Octave developers next Tuesday October 27 at 18:00 UTC. If I’m getting the time zones right, that is 11:00 Pacific / 14:00 Eastern in the US, 19:00 in Central Europe and 3:00 in Japan (Wednesday).

I intend to use Jitsi for the meeting and will post a URL here and also to the IRC channel and the maintainers mailing list an hour or so before the meeting begins.

We’ll mostly be discussing the 6.1.0 release and the status of Kai’s work with buildbot. If anyone else has a specific topic they would like to discuss or something to present, please let me know.

This meeting is open to anyone with an interest in Octave development. It is not intended to be a support forum.

5 Likes

To hopefully reduce possible confusion with time zones:
Central Europe moved back from daylight saving time UTC+2 to standard time UTC+1. So if I got this right, the online meeting will take place at 19:00 in Central Europe.

for anyone confused, visit the link below and select UTC and your location. scroll down to 1800 UTC and you’ll see your local time. I do see that it updated for the Central Europe DTS change, so it should be correct for anyone’s time zone.

I have a jitsi instance set up at

We’ll start in about 50 minutes.

I’m having problems connecting to that room. It either fails while trying to connect, or I’m kicked a few seconds in. Both with Google Chrome and MS Edge (Chromium).
Anyone more successful?

1 Like

I mostly observe the same with firefox.

I’m also having trouble with it disconnecting me.

I started another meeting here:

https://meet.jit.si/octave-dev-2020-10-27

Let’s try that and see whether it works better.

The second, on meet.jit.si is working. So the meeting will take place there.

As Rik noted in our thread about goals for the next release, it’s been a while since we have had an online developer meeting, so:

Join us for another semi-formal meeting of Octave developers next Tuesday March 23 at 18:00 UTC. If I’m getting the time zones right, that is 11:00 Pacific / 14:00 Eastern in the US, 19:00 in Central Europe and 03:00 in Japan (Wednesday).

I intend to use Jitsi for the meeting and will post a URL here and also to the IRC channel an hour or so before the meeting begins.

We’ll mostly be discussing the plans for the next major release. If anyone else has a specific topic they would like to discuss or something to present, please let me know.

This meeting is open to anyone with an interest in Octave development. It is not intended to be a support forum.

3 Likes

I copied your message to the maintainers mailing list:
Online Developer Meeting Announcement (gnu.org)
I hope that is ok.

Wiki is set up: Online Developer Meeting (2021-03-23) - Octave

I started the meeting at https://meet.jit.si/octave-dev-2021-03-23

Thanks for the nice meeting :slightly_smiling_face: I updated the wiki with my notes.

At the end it was thought about having a regular online meeting like this. How about each 4th Tuesday of a month at the same time? This would make the next meeting

Tuesday April 27 at 18:00 UTC

That’s a good idea. Absent a pressing issue, people can always pose topics immediately ahead of the meeting, and it’s easy enough to cancel until next month if there’s no interest.

Regular is good. 4th Tuesday works most of the time for me. I will have to miss this month (April 27th) and later the October 26th meeting.

Please edit the topics on the wiki page for the meeting next week: Online Developer Meeting (2021-04-27) - Octave :writing_hand:

The wiki is setup for Tuesday :slightly_smiling_face:

The wiki is setup for 2021-06-22T18:00:00Z :slightly_smiling_face:

I will be able to attend the July 27th meeting. Looking forward to it. When does the announcement for the meeting usually post? Is it a 1 week ahead, a few days ahead, the day before?